Skip to content

**** ****

100 Best Books to Read in Kindergarten poster kit ALA

[Kristin Harmel] free The Winemaker's Wife ebook – Book, eBook or Kindle free


CHARACTERS The Winemaker's Wife

The Winemaker's Wife

Hose they love and the champagne house that ties them togetherNew York 2019 Liv Kent has just lost everything when her eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced insisting on a trip to France But the older woman has an ulterior motive and a tragic decades old story to share When past and present finally collide Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauvea. I received a free copy of The Winemaker s Wife by Kristin Harmel from Goodreads for my honest opinionA wonderful work of Historical Fiction with dual time lines that take place between World War II and present day The focus of the story is on a champagne house in the Champagne region of France A story of a woman who spent her whole life trying to make amends for mistakes she made in her youth There are twists and turns within this story you never see comingThe characters are wonderful and real and full of life The writing is brilliant and you will feel the struggles each character faces Absolutely brilliant Something in the Wine The Moonstone Series just lost everything when her eccentric French grandmother shows up unannounced insisting on a trip to France But the older woman has an ulterior motive and a tragic decades old story to share When past and present finally collide Liv finds herself on a road to salvation that leads right to the caves of the Maison Chauvea. I received a free copy of The Winemaker s Wife by Kristin Harmel from Goodreads for my honest opinionA wonderful work of Historical Fiction with dual time lines that take place between World War II and present day The focus of the story is on a champagne house in the Champagne region of France A story of a woman who spent her whole life trying to make amends for mistakes she made in her youth There are twists and turns within this story you never see comingThe characters are wonderful and real and full of life The writing is brilliant and you will feel the struggles each character faces Absolutely brilliant

SUMMARY ☆ TALKLOBBY.CO.UK ✓ Kristin Harmel

The author of the engrossing international bestseller The Room on Rue Amélie returns with a moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The NightingaleChampagne 1940 Inès has just married Michel the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau when the Germans invade As the danger mounts Michel turns his. Thanks to NetGalley and Simon Shuster Canada for a digital galley in exchange for an honest review Kristin Harmel presents a well researched and detailed story set in wartime Reims France 1938 1943 and the other in contemporary France 2019 I gravitated to this story because I have visited Reims and its gorgeous cathedral Notre Dame de Reims the site in which many French monarchs were crowned and was intrigued at the angle of the champagne industry and it s resistance during German occupation Also I did enjoy the author s 2018 book The Room on Rue Amelie But what often had me considering DNFing or giving this a lower rating on Goodreads was the descent into historical romance Michel Ines Cecile and Theo were all so weak and I honestly hated all of them It was so incredibly difficult to relate to characters that just kept cheating on each other Ines Cecile Michel or stuck their heads in the sand Theo I totally get it that ordinary people do exist and they cannot all be superheros but this book hurt my heart In the contemporary storyline American Liv and her grandmother Edith arrive in Reims where Liv is told that this trip is significant Of course a romance is thrown into the mix and the big reveal was not a surprise at all DisappointingGoodreads Review 160619Publication Date 090719 The Burning The Haunting of Grey Hills just married Michel the owner of storied champagne house Maison Chauveau when the Germans invade As the danger mounts Michel turns his. Thanks to NetGalley and Simon Shuster Canada for a digital galley in exchange for an honest review Kristin Harmel presents a well researched and detailed story set in wartime Reims France 1938 1943 and the other in contemporary France 2019 I gravitated to this story because I have visited Reims and its gorgeous cathedral Notre Dame de Reims the site in which many French monarchs were crowned and was intrigued at the angle of the champagne industry and it s resistance during German occupation Also I did enjoy the author s 2018 book The Room on Rue Amelie But what often had me considering DNFing or giving this a lower rating on Goodreads was the descent into historical romance Michel Ines Cecile and Theo were all so weak and I honestly hated all of them It was so incredibly difficult to relate to characters that

Kristin Harmel ✓ 1 REVIEW

Back on his marriage to begin hiding munitions for the Résistance Inès fears they’ll be exposed but for Céline half Jewish wife of Chauveau’s chef de cave the risk is even greater rumors abound of Jews being shipped east to an unspeakable fateWhen Céline recklessly follows her heart in one desperate bid for happiness and Inès makes a dangerous mistake with a Nazi collaborator they risk the lives of t. Rating 35 stars rounded down to 3 starsThis is a dual timeline book mainly focusing on northern France during WWII There are some contemporary chapters interwoven which helped propel the storyline I m giving the book 35 stars rounded down to 3 stars This book s genre is Historical Fiction For me there were not enough historical details about the French Resistance in the Champagne region of France during the war to sink my teeth into It often felt like a Romance or Chic LitWomen s Fiction genre book There was a lot going on with the three main protagonists in the WWII era There is Michel Chauveau and his recently wed wife Ines Also in the mix are Theo and Celine Laurent Michel recently inherited Maison Chauveau upon the death of his father He has worked hard to learn the wine specifically the champagne business Maison Chauveau is uniue Michel s grandfather dug an elaborate system of caves under the main house The grapes are made into champagne in the caves The resulting bottles are stored and tended in the caves to until they are ready for market Much of the dramatic action of the book takes place in the cavesTheo is Michel s chef du cave cellar master His half Jewish wife Celine was raised in a winemaking family from Burgundy She is a good resource for many facets of the wine making process Ines is the odd person out in this mix She has no wine making experience She soon feels real and imagined slights from Michel and Celine Her feeling of exclusion leads her to make some bad decision have catastrophic unintended conseuences However she is not the only one with unclean hands Then we have the modern story of Grandma Edith and Liv While reading the modern chapters I was usually impatient to return to the WWII era to see what new scrapes this foursome was encountering This was a brutal time of German occupation French citizens collaborating with the Germans and French Resistance networks Those elements were touched upon in the story Michel was working for the Resistance I would have liked to read about that work in the book The story often dipped into RomanceChic Lit levels of angst especially in the modern storyline I would recommend this book to wine making aficionados who want to learn about the Champagne region during WWII I would also recommend it to readers who usually enjoy Women s Fiction and want to learn about this region in France during WWII The Author s Notes at the end of the book also gave resources for continued research about this era and region and the backstory of how the book came about I appreciated having that information Thank You to NetGalley the publisher Gallery Pocket Books and the author Kristin Harmel for providing a free e ARC copy of this book in exchange for an honest review


10 thoughts on “The Winemaker's Wife

  1. says:

    Thanks to NetGalley and Simon Shuster Canada for a digital galley in exchange for an honest review Kristin Harmel presents a well researched and detailed story set in wartime Reims France 1938 1943 and the other in contemporary France 2019 I gravitated to this story because I have visited Reims and its gorgeous cathedral Notre Dame de Reims the site in which many French monarchs were crowned and was intrigued at the angle of the champagne

  2. says:

    France wine WWII present day and love all of this wrapped into one amazing difficult to put down readWe meet Inez Celine Michel Thor Liv and Liv's French grandmother Edith as the story moves back and forth in timeWe find

  3. says:

    The synopsis provided for this story is a bit misleading Less than 15% of the story deals with the French Resistance; and over it goes into little to no details about what they did other than hiding the munitions as stated in the synopsis The members are never named the groups are unknown and the effect of their cause is anonymous The reader never sees the outcome of what came from their help with the resistance and there is no action reg

  4. says:

    Informative beautiful and tragicThe Winemaker’s Wife is a stirring immersive story set in France during the early 1940s as well present day that is told primarily from three different perspectives; Inès Chauveau a young wife who after feeling neglected and misunderstood naively makes choices that have far reaching life changin

  5. says:

    This is one of those times where I feel finishing the book was redemption This book features the Champagne area of France during WWII We have alternating storylines with Ines Chauvin Edith Thierry and Celine Laurent in the 1940's and present day with Liv This is your standard historical fiction novel with a few twists heartbreak and of course a background of tragedy with the holocaust casting a cloud over the

  6. says:

    Rating 35 stars rounded down to 3 starsThis is a dual timeline book mainly focusing on northern France during WWII There are some contemporary chapters interwoven which helped propel the storyline I’m giving the book 35 stars rounded down to 3 stars This book’s genre is Historical Fiction For me there were not enough historical details about the French Resistance in the Champagne region of France during the war to sink my t

  7. says:

    My thanks to NetGalley and Gallery Books for sending me an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review All opinions are my own and are not influenced by the publisher Okay Minority opinion alert This book currently has

  8. says:

    3 champagne starsThis is a well researched historical fiction tale set in the champagne region of France mostly during WWII I truly enjoyed l

  9. says:

    I received a free copy of The Winemaker's Wife by Kristin Harmel from Goodreads for my honest opinionA wonderful work of Historical Fiction with dual time lines that take place between World War II and present day The focus of the story is on a champagne house in the Champagne region of France A story of a woman who spent her whole life trying to make amends for mistakes she made in her youth There are twists a

  10. says:

    What a story It’s both complex yet simple and embodies the feelings ideas and fears of people and how they vary in extreme situations in this case WWII You may be thinking another WWII book; let me assure you there are thousands of WWII stories that are all very different and worth telling Kristin Harmel tells one of them here P

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *